Types of Impurities


Is my understanding correct (from I have read in Hanafi literature)?

Najasah Hukmiyyah consists of two groups: sins, Hadath

Sins fall in three groups: 1) Kufr and Shirk, 2) Kabair, 3) Saghair

Kufr and shirk is ghaleezah and makes you a kafir

Kabair are mutawassitah and make you a fasiq and saghair are khafeefah and they lower your grade unless they are neglected and become a kabirah. Repentance is necessary for all three. The first is cleansed by Islam, the second and third by repentance and good deeds. The Hadath is two groups: Kabir and saghir, kabir is what requires ghusl and saghir requires wudhu. Could you tell me if my understanding is correct so far and if you can elaborate a little further if needed?


In the name of Allāh, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-raḥmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Najaasah (impurity) is of two types:

1. Haqeeqi – Visible impurity for example: stool and urine.

2. Hukmee – Non- visible impurity, for example one requires to make Wudhu or Ghusl (obligatory bath).

Najasah Haqeeqi is of two types:

1. Ghaleezah – Dense impurities for example: the urine and stool of human beings. The urine of Haraam (forbidden) animals.

2. Khafeefah – light impurities for example: the urine of Halaal animals like sheep, etc.

Najasah Hukmi is of two types:

1. Hadathe – Asghar – That is when one is in need of making wudhu for example, a person who releases wind from the private areas.

2. Hadathe- Akbar – That is when one is in need of taking an obligatory bath for example, one who has a nocturnal emission.

And Allah Ta‘ālā Knows Best
Ismail Desai

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.